As I walked my dog earlier for some reason those beautiful and sad lines of Douson came into my head

“They are not long the weeping and the laughter, love and desire and hate. I think they have no portion in us after we pass the gate. They are not long the days of wine and roses. Out of a misty dream our path emerges for a while and then closes within a dream”.

 

Those words never fail to move me.

 

Anyone wanting to read more about Douson and his poetry can go to http://www.poemhunter.com/ernest-christopher-dowson/

 

Kevin

About kevinmorris101

I live and work in London and blog as a hobby. If you would like to contact me please send an email to animalia at shiftmail.com (the address is rendered in this manner in order to try and defeat spammers)!
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

