GUIDE DOGS

What a relief. I had a visit today from the Guide Dogs for the Blind Association to discuss whether my current guide dog, Drew is nearing the age when she should retire. I’ve had Drew since 2005 and have grown to love her very much. She goes with me nearly everwhere and we have developed a bond which goes far beyond a mere working relationship. During the week she goes with me, to the office and sits patiently by my desk. Well I must admit that, on occasions she does stroll round the open plan office looking for a stroke or in search of a tasty snack if someone has brought in cakes!

Anyway the outcome is that Drew can continue to work until at least the end of the year. After this the Guide Dogs for the Blind Association will visit Drew and I again to discuss a replacement dog. Thankfully that is nearly a year off so I have plenty of time left with Drew.

Drew is my third guide dog. The first was called Nixon (I assume after the American President) so I got used to lots of jokes about Watergate! My second dog was named Zeff and was so bouncy that he was nicknamed Tigger like the bouncy tiger in Winnie the Pooh.

Kevin

About kevinmorris101

I live and work in London and blog as a hobby. If you would like to contact me please send an email to animalia at shiftmail.com (the address is rendered in this manner in order to try and defeat spammers)!
This entry was posted in Guide Dogs and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

