A BALANCED LIFE

As I sat on the train, reading the news on my mobile it struck me how much time we all spend plugged in to technology of one kind or another. On leaving the train and entering my office I spend most of the day using a computer then, on going home I’ll usually go online for a while to catch up with personal e-mails etc.

I know that I’m not alone in spending a considerable part of my day using technology. It goes without saying that the internet has brought huge benefits to humanity. It allows families and friends to keep in touch over vast distances and it has greatly reduced the cost of purchasing many products. Likewise mobile telephones mean that many women feel safer when they go out alone at night and the days of searching around for loose change for a phone box are thankfully banished to the past for most of us. However ask yourself the next time you are walking in a beautiful place, either alone or with family or friends “do I really need to keep my mobile switched on?” Why not turn it off and enjoy the song of the birds, the smell of the plants and the sheer pleasure of being a part of nature?

Its good to think and constant exposure to information whether incessant text messaging or the constant checking of one’s Facebook page drives out thought.

As a blind person I greatly value the way in which technology has enhanced my horizons. I am, for instance writing this with the use of screen reading software which enables me to use a computer, however technology is and should remain a servant and not a master.

About kevinmorris101

I live and work in London and blog as a hobby. If you would like to contact me please send an email to animalia at shiftmail.com (the address is rendered in this manner in order to try and defeat spammers)!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

