WE ROBOT BY MARK STEPHEN MEADOWS

I’ve just come across this book, by Mark Stephen Meadows and I simply can’t wait to read it. For a long time now I’ve been interested in the concept of artificial intelligence and, in particular the potential of robots to become human or, at least to behave in a manner which makes it virtually impossible to distinguish them from people, (for my previous posts on artificial intelligence, including the chatbots Jabberwacky, Ramona and A.L.I.C.E please go to https://kevinmorris101.wordpress.com/category/artificial-intelligence/).

 

Stephen’s book deals with such fascinating issues as robots who love humans and who get hurt when humans don’t love them back. Other topics covered include the use of robots by the military and the utilisation of domestic robots. On the latter point I must confess to owning a Roomba robot vacuum cleaner. Basically it is round in shape and runs around the floor hoovering up dust and anything else (including small toys etc) which happen to get in its way! While I rather like my Roomba the less expensive cylinder vacuum cleaner which lives in the hall cupboard and requires my wife or I to propel it around picks up far more dirt although it does (unlike the Roomba) give you back ache after you have been pushing it around for a while! As mentioned at the beginning of this post I haven’t yet read Stephen’s book, however I’m greatly looking forward to downloading it onto my Kindle and listening to it using the text to speech facility (thank goodness that the publisher/author has allowed this to be enabled). For anyone wishing to save a few pennies (and who owns a Kindle) the Kindle edition is a couple of pounds cheaper than the print one. For the book please see the below link, to the amazon.co.uk website. Happy reading!

 

http://www.amazon.co.uk/We-Robot-Skywalkers-Runners-Slutbots/dp/B004GTN4DG/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1298709849&sr=1-2

About kevinmorris101

I live and work in London and blog as a hobby. If you would like to contact me please send an email to animalia at shiftmail.com (the address is rendered in this manner in order to try and defeat spammers)!
This entry was posted in Artificial Intelligence, Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

