THE JOYS OF DOG OWNERSHIP

As I sat on the train this evening, on the way home from work I was reminded of the joys of being a dog owner. London commuters who would usually spend their entire journey engrossed in their newspaper began to ask me questions about my guide dog, Drew and to chat to each other about their respective dogs. Well that is my good deed for the day, getting Londoners actually talking to one another!

As all you dog owners out there will know owning a dog brings its moments of humour. Three or so years ago I was awakened by an almighty crash. It was about 3 in the morning and my thought was “oh my god someone is breaking into the flat”! Jumping out of bed I headed for what was then the spare room as it was from there that the crash had come. On walking in I spied my trusty four-legged friend, Drew wearing her own, very unique headgear … the lid of the kitchen bin which had become jammed on her head and which she was noisily trying to rid herself of! At first I thought that Drew had developed a taste for unusual hats however, on further investigation it turned out that she had been helping herself to the remains of a chicken in the kitchen bin when her head had become stuck in the dustbin lid! Fortunately no harm was done accept to Drew’s sense of adventure as, for a while at least she steered well clear of bins! As is typical with dogs Drew soon forgot her mishap and now (given half a chance) will route merrily away in any bin which happens to be within easy reach.

One of my greatest pleasures is to let Drew run free in the park. It is so wonderful to hear her runn about in the leaves greatly enjoying herself.

The saddest part of being a dog owner is parting from your much loved friend. Drew is due to retire in the next year or so and the prospect fills me with dread.

About kevinmorris101

I live and work in London and blog as a hobby. If you would like to contact me please send an email to animalia at shiftmail.com (the address is rendered in this manner in order to try and defeat spammers)!
This entry was posted in Guide Dogs, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to THE JOYS OF DOG OWNERSHIP

  1. John Furzer says:

    Kevin, an amusing anecdote, but then I know you have many more guide-dog related ones you could have also chosen. I remember Drew’s predecessors Zeff and Nixon with affection, not least because of some of the silly things that they could get up to.

    I remember you telling me of the time you went for a lunchtime walk with Nixon and returned to work without noticing that he had somehow acquired a bag of fresh doughnuts and carried them all the way back in to the office!!!

    With regards to Drew, I hope that she remains in good health for a long time yet!

    Regards, John

  2. Pingback: THE DEATH OF A MUCH LOVED FRIEND | My Blog

Leave a Reply

