THE MYSTERY OF THE MISSING CANE

Yesterday afternoon (16 March) I decided to go for a walk. Nothing unusual about that as billions of people go walking every day, however the difficulty I encountered was my inability to locate my long cane (the cane used by visually impaired people as a mobility aid to prevent them colliding with obstacles, falling down holes and to act as a signal to others that the person using the cane has a visual impairment). I hunted high and low and just as I was on the point of summoning the aid of Sherlock Holmes I found the elusive cane in the store cupboard in my hall.

My inability to find my cane reinforced in my mind the advantages of guide dog ownership. Had my previous guide dog, Drew still been alive I would have called her name and she would 99 times out of a hundred come running (the 1 per cent when I would have encountered difficulties would have been if my four-legged friend had been enjoying a bone or chew stick when she would have been rather more tardy in answering my call)! Well I didn’t start calling my cane (not that I’m admitting to anyway)! and it was by my very limited residual vision that I was, eventually able to find the dratted thing. Perhaps I can make my millions by pattenting a cane which comes when called and if this prooves to be technically impossible the incorporation of technology which allows the cane to beep when one whistles could, potentially aid location. However I have a feeling that the manufacturer of those key rings which emit a sound when whistled at almost certainly have the rights to the latter patent so I guess that I’ll have to make my millions elsewhere.

About kevinmorris101

I live and work in London and blog as a hobby. If you would like to contact me please send an email to animalia at shiftmail.com (the address is rendered in this manner in order to try and defeat spammers)!
This entry was posted in Guide Dogs, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

