MISSING DREW

 

Yesterday evening, on my way home from work I sat on the train relaxing after a tiring day. The gentleman sitting next to me suddenly asked where my guide dog, Drew was. As those of you who follow this blog will know Drew died totally unexpectedly on 18 March. Since then I’ve been amazed at the sheer number of people (many of them unknown to me) who have stopped me in the course of the day to ask why Drew isn’t with me. It is interesting that many of these individuals knew Drew but had never spoken with me prior to her death. They had obviously seen me arround with Drew and wondered why she had disappeared from the sceene.

Returning to my conversation with the gentleman on the train yesterday, I was touched by his genuine regret on hearing of Drew’s death. I felt a pang when he remarked how Drew had always wagged her tail at the sight of young children. She loved people and was particularly fond of children. Indeed one of my most poignant memories is of Drew a few days before her death, lying on her back and wagging her tail furiously while a little girl tickled her belly. She was a lovely dog and not a day goes by without me thinking of her. Now the memories are happy ones tinged with sadness that she is no longer here and I’ll feel her head on my knee no more. 

Kevin

About kevinmorris101

I live and work in London and blog as a hobby. If you would like to contact me please send an email to animalia at shiftmail.com (the address is rendered in this manner in order to try and defeat spammers)!
This entry was posted in Guide Dogs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

