A TIME EATING CLOCK

Yesterday my wife, daughter and I visited the Science Museum, a short walk from South Kensington station. The exhibit which most caught my attention was a time eating clock invented by the British inventor John C Taylor. I’ve always had a fascination with clocks (I love the traditional time pieces which tick loudly and who’s pendulums swing as they create a real sense of time passing), therefore I was fascinated to observe the grasshopper clock.

Taylor’s clock is based on the idea that we all experience time differently. Every 59 seconds a grasshopper clamps it’s jaws shut devouring a minute which will never return. As I observed Taylor’s clock those lines of Sir Walter Raleigh came into my mind

“even such is time which takes in trust our youth, our joys, our all we have and pays us but with earth and dust. Who in the dark and silent grave, when we have wandered all our ways shuts up the story of our days. And from this earth, this grave, this dust my god shall raise me up I trust”.

A time eating clock will be at the Science Museum until 30 October (see http://www.sciencemuseum.org.uk/visitmuseum/galleries/chronophage_clock.aspx)

About kevinmorris101

I live and work in London and blog as a hobby. If you would like to contact me please send an email to animalia at shiftmail.com (the address is rendered in this manner in order to try and defeat spammers)!
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

