INACCESSIBILITY OF FCO’S WEBSITE TO BLIND USERS

I wrote (23 June 2011) regarding my inability, as a blind computer user to solve the CAPTCHA, on the FCO’s contact pages and my consequent inability to contact the Department. As explained in my earlier posting the audio CAPTCHA is unintelligible and my wife (who is fully sighted) was not able to solve the visual CAPTCHA.

I wrote to the Foreign Secretary, William Hague detailing the issues I’d faced an received the following response

“Thank you for your email to The Rt Hon William Hague MP.

Foreign affairs related matters

If you are writing to Mr Hague in his capacity as Foreign Secretary please go to the Foreign & Commonwealth Office website for contact details http://www.fco.gov.uk/en/contact-us       http://www.fco.gov.uk/en/ministerial-feedback-form“.

I’ve written, again explaining that the purpose of my original letter to Mr Hague was to elicit his help in raising my issues with his Department given that the contact form, on the FCO’s website is inaccessible to screen reader users, (I emailed the Foreign Secretary, at the House of Commons using the email address published on Parliament’s website so, thankfully no need to solve a CAPTCHA there)!

I’ll keep you posted on developments.

About kevinmorris101

I live and work in London and blog as a hobby. If you would like to contact me please send an email to animalia at shiftmail.com (the address is rendered in this manner in order to try and defeat spammers)!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

