THE LONDON RIOTS

This evening on the way home from work I popped into the Sainsburys on Westow Street in Crystal Palace. I only wanted a carton of milk and some fruit, however the store was on the point of closing.

The time was about 8 pm and the store does not close until 9 pm during the week so why the early closing? I heard the staff talking about the riots and at one point one of the customer services representatives was asked to make an announcement that Sainsburys was closing early due to rioters being on their way to Crystal Palace. I heard one lady (near to the customer services desk) say that they (the rioters) would never get up the hill. Even in extremis the British sense of humour never deserts us!

 

I then heard someone say that no announcement regarding the riots should be made and that people should be informed that the store was closing due to unforseen circumstances. The latter announcement was made and people began to leave the store without having time to pay for their purchases.

 

On the way home I encountered one of the lady’s who works in the supermarket. She informed me that the Sainsburys, in Croydon had been “hit” so a decision had been taken to close the Westow Street Store in Crystal Palace.

 

As I write this I have no idea whether there are, in fact any rioters on their way to Crystal Palace. It could and, I suspect is a rumour, however I certainly did not dordle on my way home just in case rioters where, in fact following on my heels. I just hope that the people of Crystal Palace and London sleep peacefully tonight and that this violence ceases.

About kevinmorris101

I live and work in London and blog as a hobby. If you would like to contact me please send an email to animalia at shiftmail.com (the address is rendered in this manner in order to try and defeat spammers)!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

