UNREAL CITY

As I sat on the train this morning, on my way into work I was reminded of T S Eliot’s words “unreal city”. There I sat reading the Telegraph’s live coverage of the London riots. The newspaper described a night of looting and violence and yet there I sat, among all the other commuters travelling into my work place in central London. Neither I nor they were prevented by the riots from going into our respective work places and yet the night before this great city had been swept by rioting on a huge scale.

Coming home this evening everything seemed normal other than the fact that Victoria station appeared rather more crowded than usual as a consequence of people heading home early due to concerns as to what the coming night might bring.

On walking through Crystal Palace I was struck by the number of businesses which had closed their doors. My local Sainsburys was closed as was the Whetherspoons (the Postal Order), however a number of other establishments, including one of my favourite Indian restaurants, the Palace Spice was open and it was in the latter eatery that I enjoyed a good curry and a couple of beers prior to wending my way home.

At present all is quiet here save for the singing of the birds and the sound of aircraft passing overhead. Let us hope that it stays this way.

About kevinmorris101

I live and work in London and blog as a hobby. If you would like to contact me please send an email to animalia at shiftmail.com (the address is rendered in this manner in order to try and defeat spammers)!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

