Accessible Ipod app for lovers of American poetry

Earlier today I downloaded “American Poetry”, an app which allows the user to read poems by 50 American poets including Robert Frost, Emily Dickinson, Edgar Alan Poe and Edwin Arlington. The app is suitible for “I” devices including the Ipod Touch (the one onto which I downloaded the application).

 

As a blind person who relies on Apple’s in-built screen reader (Voiceover) to access my device, I check prior to purchasing an application to ascertain whether it supports Voiceover. In this instance there was no information regarding Voiceover, however given my love of poetry, coupled with the cheapness of the application I decided to take a risk and downloaded the app. I don’t regret my decision. The app works well with Voiceover and I am able to click on poets and on those poems which I wish to read. A two-fingered swipe from the top of the screen activates continuous reading mode so the blind reader can hear poems being spoken aloud.

The poets are arranged alphabetically and, in addition the app has a facility allowing the user to search for content. I haven’t grasped the search facility as, when I entered the search term “richard cory” (a poem by Edwin Arlington which is, definitely included in the collection (I checked), despite the poem’s presence my search returned no results. This either indicates that I somehow misunderstood how the search facility works or, alternatively that search requires some further work to make it operate correctly.

Despite the problems with search I would recommend the app as it provides access to a wealth of American poetry and is, on the whole easy to use.

For the app please visit the below link, to the US App’s Store (although I purchased the application from the UK Store I was unable to locate a direct link to it there), http://itunes.apple.com/za/app/american-poetry/id371925055?mt=8.

About kevinmorris101

I live and work in London and blog as a hobby. If you would like to contact me please send an email to animalia at shiftmail.com (the address is rendered in this manner in order to try and defeat spammers)!
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

