TalkTalk’s Price Increase

On 15 April I wrote regarding the intention of my Internet Service Provider (ISP), TalkTalk to increase it’s line rental to £14.50 per month (see http://kevin-morris.co.uk/2012/04/15/is-this-a-price-hike-which-i-see-before-me/). As set-out in that post, TalkTalk offer reduced line rental to those who opt to pay £114 upfront which, TalkTalk state will lead to it’s customers (I.E. those who pay by card) saving around £60 a year. My beef with TalkTalk is that the saving of approximately £60 should be availible to the company’s entire customer base and not merely to those who opt to pay £114, in advance by card.
Following my post I contacted the company who failed to offer an explanation as to why those (like me) who already pay their bills by direct debit (which saves the company money) should be faced with an increase in line rental. TalkTalk did point out that the price increase amounts to only sixty pence a month. This is correct however what TalkTalk fail to acknowledge is that those who pay a sum of £114, upfront will be saving around £60 a year while those who continue to pay their bill, by direct debit will not benefit from this discount.
TalkTalk have offered to reduce my line rental by £2 per month an offer which I have accepted. I am, however unhappy with TalkTalk’s tactics as regards what I correctly describe in my earlier post as a “price hike”. I repeat that the reduced line rental should be availible to all TalkTalk’s customers.

About kevinmorris101

I live and work in London and blog as a hobby. If you would like to contact me please send an email to animalia at shiftmail.com (the address is rendered in this manner in order to try and defeat spammers)!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

