The Parting Glass

“Of all the money e’er I had,
I spent it in good company.
And all the harm I’ve ever done,
Alas! it was to none but me.
And all I’ve done for want of wit
To mem’ry now I can’t recall
So fill to me the parting glass
Good night and joy be with you all.
Chorus: Some Versions Omit
So fill to me the parting glass
And drink a health whate’er befalls
Then gently rise and softly call
“Good night and joy be to you all”
Oh, all the comrades e’er I had,
They’re sorry for my going away,
And all the sweethearts e’er I had,
They’d wish me one more day to stay,
But since it falls unto my lot,
That I should rise and you should not,
I gently rise and softly call,
Good night and joy be with you all.
If I had money enough to spend,
And leisure time to sit awhile,
There is a fair maid in this town,
That sorely has my heart beguiled.
Her rosy cheeks and ruby lips,
I own she has my heart in thrall,
Then fill to me the parting glass,
Good night and joy be with you all.”

I first became acquainted with “The Parting Glass” after having downloaded Ed Sheeran’s album “Plus”, from Itunes. This beautiful song is a hidden track and follows on from “give Me Love” which is, incidentally another favourite of mine. Finding myself moved by “The Parting Glass” and Sheeran’s wonderful rendering of it I did some digging and discovered the following regarding the song’s ancestory.
“The Parting Glass” was first published as a broadside or broad sheet (a cheap form of publishing), in Ireland during the 1770’s. However the song can be traced back to at least the 1600’s where versions of it where common in both Scotland and Ireland.
Sheeran’s version of the song differs somewhat from the above but is none the worse for that. For a Youtube video of Ed Sheeran’s singing of the song please visit http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3kVVn80pFOc.

About kevinmorris101

I live and work in London and blog as a hobby. If you would like to contact me please send an email to animalia at shiftmail.com (the address is rendered in this manner in order to try and defeat spammers)!
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

