Watch out, watch out there is a scammer about

I took yesterday afternoon as leave from work as a friend was coming over, at 4 to help me set-up my desktop computer. There I was relaxing in a comfortable chair waiting for my friend to arive when my landline rang. Now this is unusual as most of my friends either call my mobile or, more usually email me to arrange get togethers. I was therefore intrigued to know who was calling, could I have won the National Lottery? Was I now a millionaire? On picking up the receiver I discovered that my life as a wage slave will continue for the time being at least. The person on the other end of the line identified himself as Victor and informed me that “the server” had reported problems with my computer. Now I was not born yesterday and my suspicions were instantly aroused as one’s Internet Service Provider (ISP) very rarely, if ever makes contact out of the blue unless that is they wish to sell you additional bandwidth. In addition my new found acquaintence failed to ask for me by name or to state the name of my ISP. However I decided to play along with no intention of actually divulging any personal information or allowing my newly discovered friend to take control of my computers! To string Mr Victor along I stayed on the line and waited for his next question which was “are you experiencing any computer problems” to which I responded “no”. Had I been more on the ball I would have concocted a ficticious problem to ascertain what Victor’s reaction was, however once I announced that I was not, in fact having PC difficulties Mr V rang off.
Although I can make light of the above incident some 24 hours after it occured I shudder to conjecture what may have happened had I been experiencing PC issues and allowed “Victor” to take control of my computers. Anything from a Trojan Horse leading to the theft of personal information through to turning my machines into conjuits for the infection of other people’s machines could have been the result.
I have no idea how “Tech Support” obtained my telephone number as it is unlisted but I am very glad that I did not succumb to the whiles of Mr Scammer.

About kevinmorris101

I live and work in London and blog as a hobby. If you would like to contact me please send an email to animalia at shiftmail.com (the address is rendered in this manner in order to try and defeat spammers)!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Watch out, watch out there is a scammer about

  1. @alipeoples says:

    i had a guy like this the other day. It actually shocked me how brazen he was, telling me that he was from so and so and that my computer was “damaging the local server”. He couldn’t even tell me my name when I asked him let alone how he got my number. i dread to think what would have happened if I had been a nice little old lady who knew absolutely nothing about computers…

    • Many thanks for your comment. It is, as you say dreadful to think what would have happened had the person picking up the call been a little old lady. The people making these calls obviously lack any moral sense. Regards, Kevin

Leave a Reply

