Ealing Beer Festival

Yesterday I attended the Ealing Beer Festival which took place in Walpole Park (http://www.ealing.gov.uk/info/200878/parks_in_ealing/658/walpole_park), and was organised by the Campaign for Real Ale (CAMRA). My friend John and I arrived at around 5:30 and left at approximately 10:50. Fortunately we where drinking thirds rather than pints which gave us plenty of opportunity to sample the many and varied beers on offer. Drinking thirds also had the advantage that we managed to navigate our way back to my friend’s home rather than spending the night slumbering in a ditch or under a bush!
We both sampled many brews which I had never heard of before. Being a dog lover and owner I felt honour bound to try Posh Pooch  which I can report tasted rather good. While I did consider allowing my guide dog, Trigger to down a couple of pints of Posh Pooch I determined against this as he needed to get me back to my friend’s flat in one piece rather than getting me entangled in some deep and dank shrubbery!
The festival featured a wonderful sellection of dishes ranging from chicken curry to Polish hot dog sausages. I plumped for a large polish sausage encased in bread and it tasted so good that I succumbed to temptation and ordered a second helping. The meat was excellent and tasted far better than most of the sausages one can buy in the supermarket.
John and I spent a large part of the evening in a tent listening to live music. The female singer had a great voice and was also pretty nifty on her guitar.
All in all it was a great evening and I’d certainly recommend attending when the festival occurs next year.

About kevinmorris101

I live and work in London and blog as a hobby. If you would like to contact me please send an email to animalia at shiftmail.com (the address is rendered in this manner in order to try and defeat spammers)!
This entry was posted in Guide Dogs, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ealing Beer Festival

  1. John Furzer says:

    It was indeed a good evening Kevin. However, the following day also had its memorable moments. I’m thinking particularly about our walk back through Walpole Park on the way to the station. Trigger, whilst enjoying a few minutes from working, was off his lead and without warning, suddenly ran straight through the site entrance to the beer festival. I quickly followed to try and retrieve Trigger and an amused member of the festival security team who had seen what had happened, told me that to enter I would have to pay three pounds admission for myself as well as for Trigger.

    Trigger was duly retrieved and returned to you without either of us having to pay the admission fee and it must be said that we did not enter the site or avail ourselves of further obscure sounding beers and continued on our way to the station.

    Reflecting on this little incident, I couldn’t help thinking about how single minded Trigger had appeared in suddenly wanting to enter the beer festival and mused that there may be several reasons why this could be:

    Maybe it was because he remembered being there the day before and was tempted by memories of hoovering up dropped or discarded chips and other food items.

    Perhaps he was also drawn by the miriad of lovely smells emanating from the various food tents.

    Possibly, and this is my favourite, he was demonstrating the wonderful bond that has developed between dog and master and being so in tune with you, was assuming that we were returning for another session of drinking.

    Whatever the reason, it’s a pity that he didn’t do this on Friday evening, when we were required to queue up and pay our admission fee like everyone else. I think further training by your good self over the next twelve months is in order so that we can be assured of a speedy and free entrance when the beer festival returns to Ealing next year!

    • Cheers for your amusing comment John. I particularly like your observation that “Possibly, and this is my favourite, he was demonstrating the wonderful bond that has developed between dog and master and being so in tune with you, was assuming that we were returning for another session of drinking.” As you know I only drank to keep you company (well that is my excuse and I’m sticking to it)! Best, Kevin

Leave a Reply

